Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.
Google It
Definition
"Precipitation in which acidity is above the natural level." (Facts on File Dictionary of Weather and Climate, 1994)
Narrow the Topic
-
What is acid rain?
-
Is acid rain a serious environmental problem?
-
What are the effects of acid rain on the ecosystems?
-
Can the Clean Air Act of 1970 help reduce acid rain in the United States?
- Can "clean coal" prevent acid rain.
-
Are forests in danger due to acid rain?
Available at the Reference Desk
Current Controversies: Developing Nations
(also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)At Issue: Is Air Pollution a Serious Threat to Health?
(also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)- CQ Researcher
"Coal's Comeback" 10/05/07 also in the CQ Researcher Plus Archive database
Available at the Reference Desk
Current Controversies: Developing Nations (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)
At Issue: Is Air Pollution a Serious Threat to Health? (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press): "Coal's Comeback" 10/05/07
Reference Books
Climate Change in Context
Call Number: REF QC854 .A45 2007McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Call Number: REF Q121 .M3Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: REF HM 856 .E53Battleground: Environment
Call Number: http://REF GE105 .C65
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs. - Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. - Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues. - Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. - America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. - Subject Specific Databases
Statistics
Information Plus: Water; Garbage and Other Pollution (Ref Desk) (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)
Contact Us: |
Reference DepartmentCite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009 In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited Page From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSU Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- KnightCite - Calvin College KnightCite is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in citing communication and multimedia resources.
Description
Loading content... please wait


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)

Loading content... please wait