Keywords
- Aggressiveness
- Bullying
- Bullying in schools
- Bullying in the workplace
- Cyberbullying
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.
Google It
Statistics Resources
Video

Loading Video Clip...
Definition
Bullying is a persistent pattern of threatening, harassing, or aggressive behavior directed toward another person or persons who are perceived as small, weaker, or less powerful. Although often thought of as a childhood phenomenon, bullying can occur wherever people interact, most notably observable in the workplace and in the home. (Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2008, p.183)
Narrow the topic
• What causes bullying?
• What are personality factors that contribute to bullying?
• What are the various types of bullying?
• Why do bullies select their targets?
• Which strategies and resources are used to deal with bullying?
• Can bullying lead to school shootings?
• Can bullying have a lasting effect?
• Do bullies outgrow their behavior?
• Is bullying a problem in the workplace?
• How can cyber bullying be prevented?
• What role does bullying play gangs?
• Should schools be legally liable if they fail to protect students from bullying?
Reference Books
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: REF RC 437 .G36 2008 - Encyclopedia of Education Law
Call Number: REF KF 4117 .E53 2008 - Encyclopedia of American Education
Call Number: REF LB 17.U54 2007 - Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: REF HM 626 .E53 2006 - Youth, Education, and Sexualities
Call Number: REF LC 192.6 .Y68 2005
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs. - Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. - Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues. - Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. - America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. - Subject Specific Databases
Contact Us: |
Reference DepartmentCite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009 In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited Page From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSU Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- KnightCite - Calvin College KnightCite is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in citing communication and multimedia resources.
Description
Loading content... please wait


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)

Loading content... please wait