Keywords
- Contraception
- Family Planning Methods
- Birth Control
- Planned Parenthood
- Fertility Control
- Sexual abstinence
- Sex instruction
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.
Google It
Definition
Birth control or contraception is a process or technique for the prevention of pregnancy by means of medication, device, or method, that blocks, or alters, one or more of the processes of reproduction in such a way that sexual union can occur without impregnation. (Mosby's Medical Nursing & Allied Health Dictionary, 2002)
Narrow the topic
- What are some of the current birth control options?
- What health risks are associated with contraceptive devices?
- Should birth control be taught in school as a way of preventing teen pregnancy?
- Should schools distribute birth control?
- What are some of the religious/ethical issues arising from the usage of birth control?
- Should teenagers seeking birth control methods be required to have parental consent?
Reference Books
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: REF H 40 .A2 I5 2008
"Contraception"Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Call Number: REF D205 .O94 2008 v.1West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Call Number: REF KF 154 .W47Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: REF HM856 .E53 2007Poverty in the United States: an Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy
Call Number: REF HC110 .P6 P598 2004
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs. - Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. - Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues. - Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. - America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. - Subject Specific Databases
Contact Us: |
Reference DepartmentCite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009 In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited Page From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSU Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- KnightCite - Calvin College KnightCite is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in citing communication and multimedia resources.
Description
Loading content... please wait


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)

Loading content... please wait