Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.
Google It
Definition
“Autism spectrum disorders are neurodevelopmental disorders characterized by impaired social interaction and communication, repetitive and stereotyped patterns of behavior, and uneven intellectual development often with intellectual disability." Merck Manual (also available at the Reference Desk)
Narrow the topic
· What are the causes of autism?
· Is there a link between vaccines and autism?
· What are the symptoms of autism?
· Can autism be prevented?
· Is autism curable?
· Discuss the success of methods used to teach autistic children.
· Compare three therapies for autism.
· How can schools, colleges, or universities best respond to the needs of autistic students?
Available at the Reference Desk
CQ Researcher “Vaccine Controversies” 8/25/00; "Increase in Autism”
6/13/03; Autism and Vaccines 10/30/2006
DSM-IV
Issues & Controversies
"Special Education" 9/07/07; Diagnosing Autism 10/30/2009
Opposing Viewpoints: Mental Health; Behavioral Disorders; Epidemics
Reference Books
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Call Number: REF G 121 .G37Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals
Call Number: REF LC4007 .E53Gale encyclopedia of mental health
Call Number: REF RC437 .G36Encyclopedia of human development
Call Number: REF HM626 .E53Encyclopedia of autism spectrum disorders
Call Number: REF RC553.A88 T87 (also available as e-book)
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs. - Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. - Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues. - Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. - America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. - Subject Specific Databases
Contact Us: |
Reference DepartmentCite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009 In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited Page From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSU Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- KnightCite - Calvin College KnightCite is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in citing communication and multimedia resources.
Description
Loading content... please wait


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)

Loading content... please wait