Subject Headings
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.
Google It
Definition
"RU 486, also called mifepristone or mifegyne, is a drug used to induce abortion; named for Roussel-Uclaf, the French company that developed the pill. It was approved for use in France in 1988." (Women’s Desk Reference). "It is a synthetic hormone, given in pill form, that causes the resorption or shedding of the uterine lining, thus inducing menstruation or (if the woman is pregnant) a miscarriage." (Women’s Issues).
Narrow the Topic
-
How has RU 486 changed the abortion controversy?
-
What are the side effects and drawbacks of the drug?
-
Should RU 486 have been allowed in the United States?
-
Could RU 486 solve the problems of overpopulation in the developing world?
-
Why was RU 486 approved by the Food and Drug Administration?
-
Why are pro-life groups opposed to RU 486?
-
Should RU 486 be used as an emergency contraceptive?
- Should the "right of conscience" regulation apply to pharmacists?
Available at the Reference Desk
Abortion: Opposing Viewpoints (also in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center)
Should Abortion Rights Be Restricted? (also in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive "Abortion Debates" 3/21/2003
Issues and Controversies
"Abortion Pill: RU-486" 6/19/2007
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States
REF HQ 767.5
.U5 P35 "Morning After Pill"
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
REF RC 41 .G35 (also e-book)
Encyclopedia of Birth Control
REF HQ 766
.E52 2002 "RU 486"
Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology
REF Q 175.35
.B37 2002 "RU 486"
Women and
the Law
REF KF .K84
2003
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs. - Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. - Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues. - Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. - America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. - Subject Specific Databases
Statistics
Contact Us: |
Reference DepartmentCite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009 In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited Page From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSU Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- KnightCite - Calvin College KnightCite is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in citing communication and multimedia resources.
Description
Loading content... please wait


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)

Loading content... please wait